🎉   Welcome to our new web site!   🎉

For the next 30 days, we’re providing free access to non-subscribers so you can see what we have to offer. And if you subscribe by June 1, you’ll get a 25% discount on your subscription! We hope you’ll like what you see and want to support local media.

Douglas County Schools

School board race takes shape in Douglas County

Six have announced candidacies for November election


The field is shaping up for November's Douglas County School District Board of Education election.

In the quest for four seats, six candidates were officially registered as of July 10, including a slate of four contenders who call themselves Elevate Douglas County.

The Elevate slate “stands for renewing Douglas County's tradition of educational excellence, empowering parents to be partners in their children's education, supporting and respecting educators and expanding educational options for students," according to a July 7 news release announcing the slate's entry into the race.

The Elevate Douglas County slate is composed of Ryan Abresch (District B), Randy Mills (District D), Grant Nelson (District E) and Debora Scheffel (District G).

The slate joins Kevin Leung, who will be running in District E, and Krista Holtzman, who will be challenging for the District G seat.

The District B seat is occupied by James Geddes. Distict D's seat is held by board Vice President Judith Reynolds. The District E seat is occupied by Steven Peck, who was selected by the board to replace Doug Benevento after he decided not to complete his term. District G's seat is held by board President Meghann Silverthon.

Silverthorn is term limited — elceted in 2009 and 2013, she will have served eight years come November— and cannot run again. The other incumbents have yet to announce or register for the race.

District B

District B encompasses the Castle Rock, Sedalia and Larkspur areas.

Abresch has been a resident of Douglas County since 2014 and works as a legal analyst for an online legal research firm. Prior to this job, he served as a deputy district attorney in the 10th Judicial District in Pueblo. He has a daughter attending school in DCSD.

Incumbent Geddes, a parent and acute care general and trauma surgeon, was elected in 2013.

District D

District D includes portions of Castle Rock as well as the Franktown area.

Mills is an electrician and small business owner who had two daughters attend district schools.

Reynolds is a parent and volunteer who was first elected in 2013.

District E

District E encompasses Lone Tree, Acres Green, Castle Pines and eastern Highlands Ranch.

Leung is the owner of a car wash that has locations in Douglas County and Aurora. He has three daughters who have attended Douglas County schools.

Nelson works in commercial real estate throughout Colorado, Wyoming and Montana. He is the parent of three current students in Douglas County who have attended both neighborhood and public charter schools.

Peck, who was appointed to the board in 2016, served as a Medical Service Corps officer and manages the urology and urogynecology practices at the UCHealth Anschutz Campus. He continues to serve in the Navy Reserves with the 4th Medical Battalion.

District G

District G includes the areas in and around Parker.

Scheffel most recently represented the 6th Congressional District on the Colorado State Board of Education — narrowly losing her seat in the November election — and is the dean of Colorado Christian University's School of Education.

Holtzman is an attorney and parent whose law career has focused on assisting children in cases of abuse and neglect. 


Our Papers

Ad blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an ad blocking plugin in your browser.

The revenue we receive from our advertisers helps make this site possible. We request you whitelist our site.