Enter and swear in, please

Three new faces join Fort Lupton City Council


Fort Lupton City Council welcomed three new faces and re-welcomed two others during a swearing-in ceremony Dec. 7 in council chambers.

The three new members are former city administrator Claud Hanes, Valerie Blackston and Carlos Barron. Voters re-elected Bruce Fitzgerald and Mayor Zo Stieber, who also took their oaths of office, 

Before the swearing-in program, Stieber took a few minutes to thank departing council members Shannon Rhoda and former Mayor Tommy Holton.

"No one who hasn't sat on council understands the energy, the time, the sweat and, sometimes, the sleepless nights that are part of serving our community," Stieber said. "I can say, with confidence, that only the truly dedicated come back again and again. We have a couple of members who have dedicated a number of years to our city."

She commended former councilman Michael Sanchez "for his innovative ideas. She thanked "my friend, Tommy Holton, who embarked on this quest with me 12 years ago," and Stieber also thanked former mayor pro tem Shannon Rhoda.

"You have seen the city through countless crises," Stieber said of Rhoda. "You've been invaluable to the city and its citizens."

Council also did some reorganization business. It passed resolutions naming Chris Ceretto as the new mayor pro team and Fitzgerald as the city treasurer.


Our Papers

Ad blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an ad blocking plugin in your browser.

The revenue we receive from our advertisers helps make this site possible. We request you whitelist our site.