Sheriff issues open burning ban in Douglas County


Douglas County Sheriff Tony Spurlock has issue a Stage 1 open burning ban for all of the county. Stage 1 means no open burning of any kind without a permit from the appropriate fire district, and no use of fireworks.

The National Forest Service also has issued Stage 1 restrictions, which includes a ban on target shooting on forest service lands.

Exemptions to the ban include fires in liquid-fueled or gas-fueled stoves, fireplaces in buildings, charcoal grill fires in developed residential or commercial areas, and fires in wood burning stoves in buildings only.

Also allowed are small recreational fires at developed picnic or campground sites contained in fixed permanent metal/steel fire pits (rock fire rings are considered temporary and not permanent) with flame lengths not in excess of four feet or the residential use of charcoal grills, tiki torches, fires in chimineas, or other portable fireplaces or patio fire pits, as fires are supervised by a responsible person at least 18 years of age.

Violation of these fire restrictions is punishable by up to a $1,000 fine and a $10 surcharge.

For a complete list of exemptions and more information, go to


Our Papers

Ad blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an ad blocking plugin in your browser.

The revenue we receive from our advertisers helps make this site possible. We request you whitelist our site.